Apropos of Nothing

October 17, 2007

Upgrade Headaches

Filed under: Humour — aproposofnothing @ 6:34 pm

Hello,
I write this letter since I’m very disappointed with your product.

Earlier I had a few minor problems when I tried to run GirlFriend 2.0 with GirlFriend 1.0 still installed. It seemed they both wanted to use the same port and conflicted. I tried to uninstall GirlFriend 1.0 but it didn’t come with an uninstall program, so I removed it by hand, but it had left files in my system directory that interfered with the running of the 2.0. At first I thought I had to completely erase the old directories, but later the 3.0 worked great after removing some of the heavy graphics, so I guess it was just a memory problem. Anyway, I have been completely satisfied since the 3.1 was released. (I especially appreciated the fast access and handy buttons)

But then last year, I finally, after an attack of massive marketing, upgraded my old, but still working, GirlFriend 3.1 to Fiancée 1.0. I was told I would get lots of benefits, like free lifetime support, but so far I haven’t seen much of it… Neither was I informed that this would also force me into investing in the Wife 1.0 so soon. One day my SexLife Manager just wouldn’t start. After trying to reach the support for weeks I finally got a reply telling me the only solution was to upgrade. So I did… And it took all available space, but still refused to work.

The upgrade has been a costly matter for me. For example, the Wife 1.0 just wouldn’t accept my old hardware, so I had to spend a fortune on new machinery. Being totally object oriented, it only supports hardware with gold plated contacts. And although I did not ask for it, Wife 1.0 came with pre-installed, resource-consuming, integrated Plug-Ins such as MotherInLaw, BrotherInLaw and MoneySpender. It’s amazing how MoneySpender, being just a betarelease, seems to be the only well functioning application, especially if you have the optional SmartCard unit.

But worst of all; The Wife 1.0 must be running before I can do anything else, or I just won’t get access. And I have also found there are undocumented bugs that cannot be fixed. How come the manual doesn’t mention how important it is to have a full backup of the prenup.agr before installing the Wife 1.0??

Bug report: If I try to install Mistress 1.1 before uninstalling Wife 1.0, Wife 1.0 will delete MSMoney files before doing the uninstall itself. Then Mistress 1.1 will refuse to install, claiming insufficient resources. Also: A very annoying feature: If I don’t pay attention, everytime I connect, the Wife 1.0 automatically wants to install the Wife 1.0 Plus. (Marketing name: Family Pack). If I don’t remember to cancel in time it will be automatically installed. I missed that, and even though the FamilyPack has great advantages, especially the games, it is far too expensive.

I have spent lots of money getting an expert to help me uninstall the Wife 1.0 and believe I finally got a clean start. Now I have a list of features I’d like to see in the upcoming GirlFriend 4.0:

– Multitasking
– Virus shield
– “Abort” button
– An install shield feature so that Girlfriend 4.0 can be completely uninstalled if so desired (so you don’t lose cache and other objects)

and for the wife 2.0:

– A “Don’t remind me again” button
– Minimize button
– Shutdown feature

Best regards,
Dick Hackman

1 Comment »

  1. […] Upgrade Headaches I […]

    Pingback by Upgrade Headaches II « Apropos of Nothing — February 10, 2008 @ 10:29 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

